Car Accident Lawyer in Dundein, FL
The Paulsen Law Group Has 15+ Years of Experience
You never thought a car accident would happen to you, but now that it has,
what should you do? This can be a very confusing and difficult situation,
especially when a negligent driver is the cause of the collision. If you were seriously injured in an accident, you may be entitled to financial
The Paulsen Law Group can
help you seek compensation during this difficult time.
Injured in a car crash? Contact our car accident lawyer for a
free consultation today!
How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Claim?
Like all states, Florida has a statute of limitations set for personal
injury cases. This statute of limitations sets a four year limit, meaning
you must file your personal injury claim within this time period or you
may lose your right to file a claim for your injury. While four years
can feel like a long time, it's important that you contact an attorney
as soon as possible as there may be important evidence or documents that
should be gathered quickly. Hiring an attorney can have many benefits
and can give you time to focus on recovery while we focus on winning you
the compensation you deserve.
Types of Car Accidents We Handle
Being involved in a car accident can be a traumatic event regardless of
the seriousness of the incident. In most cases, auto accidents result
in serious and devastating injuries to drivers and passengers. Our accident
lawyers in Dunedin have experience in many types of car accident claims
so that you can rest in the knowledge that your case will be handled effectively
and efficiently once you partner with us.
We handle car accident cases including, but not limited to the following:
If you believe that you have a case for an
injury claim due to negligence, contact Paulsen Law Group for more information
and to seek compensation!
What to do After a Car Accident in Florida:
If you were injured in an accident,
immediately seek the medical help you need. Your well-being is of the utmost importance.
document all that you can about the incident, but only if it is safe to do so. Take pictures, record details, jot down
notes and gather contact details from the involved party. All of this
information can be helpful when supporting your case. If you didn’t
happen to record the information or take pictures, don’t panic.
contact us and discuss what happened. There is no charge for your case evaluation. In fact, there are
no fees whatsoever unless we win and recover compensation.
How Does No-Fault Insurance Work in Florida?
If you intend to drive a vehicle with four wheels in the state of Florida,
you need to be familiar with Florida’s no-fault auto insurance law.
The law requires that a driver purchase and carry an auto insurance policy.
Insurance policies must contain two specific types of coverage:
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – Everyone who owns a registered motor vehicle in Florida is required
to carry a minimum of $10,000 in PIP coverage. PIP covers you, your family,
and other individuals riding in your car that are injured in an accident,
regardless of who is at-fault. This coverage includes crashes involving
pedestrians, bicyclists, and children injured on school buses. If you
miss time from work because of your injury, PIP will pay up to 60 % of
your gross average weekly wage for the time you lose. PIP also provides
up to $5000 in death benefits.
Property Damage Liability (PDL) – Florida drivers are also required to carry a minimum of $10,000
in PDL coverage. PDL covers any damage that you, a member of your family,
or any other covered individual causes to another person’s property
while driving your vehicle. PDL will not, however, pay anything for damages
that your car may have sustained. Although the state of Florida does not
require drivers to carry insurance that covers their own vehicle, it may
be advisable to do so.
Effective January 1, 2013, several reforms to Florida’s No-fault
Auto Insurance Law took effect. Some primary changes to the law include:
Initial Treatment – People with injuries must seek medical treatment within 14 days
of a car accident.
Type of Treatment – The treatment people choose will depend on the extent of their injuries
Emergency Medical Treatment (EMC) – The full medical benefit of $10,000 is available for emergency
treatment provided by ambulance, at a hospital, or from a physician, supervised
physician’s assistant, dentist, or advanced registered nurse practitioner.
For non-emergency treatment, the medical benefit is $2,500. Although non-emergency
treatment can be given by any provider, massage therapy and acupuncture
is not reimbursable through PIP. If follow-up to medical care paid for
by PIP is required, a referral from a physician, osteopath, dentist, or
chiropractor is required.
Unlike most states, Florida does not require drivers to carry bodily injury
liability (BIL) coverage, which covers the cost of the accident-related
injuries of others when your car is involved in an accident. BIL coverage
can pick up where PIP benefits leave off to help cover expenses.
We're ready to hear from you.
Contact Paulsen Law Group today to schedule your free consultation.
Ridesharing Accidents: Are You Protected?
Whether you have been in an accident involving Uber, Lyft, or any other
type of ridesharing company, it is important to know what your rights
are as far as compensation is entailed. At Paulsen Law Group, our car
accident lawyer can represent your rights in these types of cases and
work to get you the financial compensation that you deserve.
Because of their massive size and the material they carry, commercial trucks
are capable of causing extensive damage to other vehicles and drivers
on the road if operated in an unsafe manner. Unfortunately, major transportation
companies are in the business for profit, and will often make decisions
to increase the bottom line that may jeopardize the safety of others.
However, this is never an excuse to put others at peril of serious injury
or death. Trucks drivers and their employers are under a strict set of
state and federal regulations and when they fail to abide by them, they
should be held fully responsible.
Paulsen Law Group Handles the following types of truck accidents:
Negligent Hiring: Truck companies are obligated by a reasonable duty of care to hire qualified
and safe truck drivers. This means they are obligated to do their due
diligence in performing required background checks, drug and alcohol tests.
Negligent hiring occurs when a trucking company fails to do their due
diligence and hires unsafe drivers who then go on to cause an accident
and injury. Negligent retention also occurs when a truck driver has been
employed by the company for some time, and the trucking company should
have known their driver was incompetent or driving dangerously.
Examples of Failure to Maintain: Without the proper maintenance, there are many ways a big-rig truck could
be affected. It may involve anything from engine problems. For example,
commercial trucks are required to have reflector tape on the vehicles,
which gives drivers in other vehicles a better visibility of the truck,
especially at night. When these reflectors are dirty, worn out, or missing,
it could lead to an accident. Other examples of failing to maintain the
vehicle includes: Braking failure, Failing to inspect lights, reflectors,
brakes, or parts, or Exceeding mileage or hourly limits.