Skip to Content
Paulsen Law Group Paulsen Law Group
Free Consultations!

When Do I Need to Report a Car Accident to Police in FL?


If you have recently been injured in a car accident in Florida, one of the most important steps you must take is to call the police or highway patrol to the scene of the collision.

According to Florida law, a person must report a crash to law enforcement officials if an accident involves one of the following:

  • An injury

  • A death

  • A driver fled the scene (i.e., hit-and-run accident)

  • A drunk or drugged driver

  • Property damage worth at least $500

If a car accident does not meet any of the requirements listed above, a driver must still file a report of the accident with 10 days of the date of the collision with the local police department or online.

If you wish to file a report on your own, you must provide the following information:

  • The location and time of the accident

  • Vehicle(s) descriptions

  • Names and contact information of all parties involved

  • Name and badge number of the investigating officer(s)

  • Names and contact information of witnesses

Although not all accidents require contacting the police, it is wise to contact the local authorities to the scene on the safe side. Officers will secure the crash site, investigate the accident, gather information and statements from all parties involved, and call in emergency medical services if necessary.

Additionally, a police report is one of the most important pieces of evidence in a car accident claim or personal injury lawsuit. A report is from an impartial and reliable third party, which is equivalent to a medical record from a doctor.

If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident in Tampa Bay, contact Paulsen Law Group today at (888) 352-7180 today for a free case evaluation. Our legal team has more than 15 years of legal experience!

Share To: