If you have recently been injured in a
car accident in Florida, one of the most important steps you must take is to call the
police or highway patrol to the scene of the collision.
According to Florida law, a person must report a crash to law enforcement
officials if an accident involves one of the following:
A driver fled the scene (i.e., hit-and-run accident)
A drunk or drugged driver
Property damage worth at least $500
If a car accident does not meet any of the requirements listed above, a
driver must still file a report of the accident with 10 days of the date
of the collision with the local police department or online.
If you wish to file a report on your own, you must provide the following
The location and time of the accident
Names and contact information of all parties involved
Name and badge number of the investigating officer(s)
Names and contact information of witnesses
Although not all accidents require contacting the police, it is wise to
contact the local authorities to the scene on the safe side. Officers
will secure the crash site, investigate the accident, gather information
and statements from all parties involved, and call in emergency medical
services if necessary.
Additionally, a police report is one of the most important pieces of evidence
in a car accident claim or
personal injury lawsuit. A report is from an impartial and reliable third party, which
is equivalent to a medical record from a doctor.