Dunedin Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer
New Port Richey Personal Injury Lawyer Representing Accident Victims
If you were hit by a drunk driver, our Dunedin personal injury attorneys
at Paulsen Law Group can seek maximum compensation for your injuries.
Our firm has been handling accident and injury cases in Florida for more
than 12 years. We take a comprehensive approach to your case, not only
helping with your accident claim, but also assisting with other issues,
such as your medical needs and car repairs. Our Pinellas County drunk driving
accident lawyers will provide you with the personal attention and superior customer service
you deserve. We have the experience and knowledge of a large-firm, but
are small enough to focus on clients, not numbers.
When you’ve been hit by a drunk driver, you may be asking:
- Who pays for my medical care? Under Florida’s no fault insurance
law, drivers are required to carry a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury
protection (PIP), so your own insurance company will pay for a portion
of your medical care.
- If I’m unable to work, how do I recover lost wages? Your PIP coverage
will pay 60 percent of your wages lost as a result of the accident.
- How do I get my car fixed or replaced, and who pays for it? Florida law
also requires drivers to carry $10,000 in property damage liability insurance
(PDL). If an uninsured driver hits you, collision coverage on your policy
will pay to have your vehicle repaired or replaced, if you opted for this
type of coverage.
Drunk Driving is a Civil and Criminal Matter
If you are hit by a drunk driver, our Dunedin personal injury attorneys at
Paulsen Law Group are equipped to handle your case. In addition, we work closely with the
State Attorney’s Office regarding the criminal matter and being
held to the fullest extent possible.
Drunk driving accidents differ from other automobile collisions in two ways:
- Driving under the influence (DUI) is against the law in all states, including Florida
- Driving drunk is a making a conscious choice to break the law, considered
negligence, and therefore, the accident is considered preventable.
To be charged with DUI in Florida, a driver’s blood alcohol content
(BAC) must register as follows:
Drivers under 21 - .02 percent
Drivers 21 or older - .08 percent
Commercial drivers - .04 percent
There is no minimum jail time for a first time DUI conviction in Florida,
but the maximum is six to nine months, depending on the offender’s
BAC. A fine between $500 to $2000 may be imposed, along with a driver’s
license suspension of anywhere from 180 days to one year. Fifty hours
of community service is mandatory for a first DUI conviction, and sentencing
terms may also include probation or time in a residential treatment program, or both.
How a Personal Injury Attorney Can Help
Drunk driving is a crime in Florida. While criminal courts hold drunk drivers
accountable for their actions, they do not provide victims of drunk driving
accidents a form of compensation for their physical injuries. However,
these victims are able to recover civil damages through the civil court
system. With the legal assistance of a skilled personal injury lawyer,
you will have someone on your side fighting for your compensation through
the court system while you recover from your injuries.
Get Started On Your Claim Today
Severe injuries from a drunk driving accident can have a significant impact
on your life and those you love for years to come. Your injuries may require
surgery and extensive physical therapy in order to make a successful recovery,
which is why you need reliable legal counsel.
Our Clearwater car accident attorney can investigate your accident, collect
evidence, and make sure the party that caused the collision is held responsible
for their crimes and your injuries. Let us fight for you while you make
the best recovery possible.
Our Dunedin personal injury attorney fights for your compensation!
Paulsen Law Group is committed to seeking fair compensation for those who
have been injured by drunk drivers. Our firm serves Clearwater, Dunedin,
St. Petersburg, Tarpon Springs, and all of Pinellas County. All cases
are handled on a contingency basis –
if you don’t recover, we don’t get paid. Our attorney can meet you anytime, anywhere, including our office, your
home, or in the hospital.
Contact us at (727) 270-8260 to schedule your free initial consultation.