Florida No-Fault Insurance
We Navigate No-Fault Insurance & Focus on Your Maximum Compensation
Florida’s no-fault insurance law is complex and has recently changed.
If you were involved in an auto accident in Clearwater, Dunedin, St. Petersburg,
or Tarpon Springs in Pinellas County, you need an experienced accident
lawyer like those at
Paulsen Law Group to help navigate the provisions of this intricate law. We provide a comprehensive
approach in handling your auto injury claim to maximize your chances of
obtaining auto accident settlement for you.
The Requirements of Florida’s No-Fault Insurance Law
If you intend to drive a vehicle with four wheels in the state of Florida,
you need to be familiar with Florida’s no-fault auto insurance law.
The law requires that a driver purchase and carry an auto insurance policy.
Insurance policies must contain two specific types of coverage:
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – Everyone who owns a registered motor vehicle in Florida is required
to carry a minimum of $10,000 in PIP coverage. PIP covers you, your family,
and other individuals riding in your car that are injured in an accident,
regardless of who is at-fault. This coverage includes crashes involving
pedestrians, bicyclists, and children injured on school buses. If you
miss time from work because of your injury, PIP will pay up to 60 % of
your gross average weekly wage for the time you lose. PIP also provides
up to $5000 in death benefits.
Property Damage Liability (PDL) – Florida drivers are also required to carry a minimum of $10,000
in PDL coverage. PDL covers any damage that you, a member of your family,
or any other covered individual causes to another person’s property
while driving your vehicle. PDL will not, however, pay anything for damages
that your car may have sustained. Although the state of Florida does not
require drivers to carry insurance that covers their own vehicle, it may
be advisable to do so.
Unlike most states, Florida does not require drivers to carry bodily injury
liability (BIL) coverage, which covers the cost of the accident-related
injuries of others when your car is involved in an accident. BIL coverage
can pick up where PIP benefits leave off to help cover expenses.
Recent Changes in Florida’s No-Fault Law
Effective January 1, 2013, several reforms to Florida’s No-fault
Auto Insurance Law took effect. Some primary changes to the law include:
Initial Treatment – People with injuries must seek medical treatment within 14 days
of a car accident.
Type of Treatment – The treatment people choose will depend on the extent of their injuries
Emergency Medical Treatment (EMC) – The full medical benefit of $10,000 is available for emergency
treatment provided by ambulance, at a hospital, or from a physician, supervised
physician’s assistant, dentist, or advanced registered nurse practitioner.
For non-emergency treatment, the medical benefit is $2,500. Although non-emergency
treatment can be given by any provider, massage therapy and acupuncture
is not reimbursable through PIP. If follow-up to medical care paid for
by PIP is required, a referral from a physician, osteopath, dentist, or
chiropractor is required.
What’s my auto injury claim worth?
Although there are personal injury settlement calculators available online
that can help give you a rough estimate of the damages that might be included
in your case, there is no universal, fool-proof method to figuring out
what your case might be worth.
Typically, a liability insurance company will pay an injured party for:
- Accident-related medical care
- Lost income
- Permanent disability or disfigurement
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Pain and suffering
- Property damage
When trying to determine what your case may be worth, your best option
is to retain an accident lawyer who provides personal attention and works
hard to get you fair compensation for your injuries. Our firm prides itself
on providing top-notch customer service and strong legal representation.
Our Clearwater accident attorneys understand the Florida no-fault insurance law.
Paulsen Law Group has been taking the mystery out of the Florida no-fault
insurance law for clients for more than 12 years.
Contact us at (727) 270-8260 or online to schedule an appointment for a free initial
consultation. We handle auto injury claims on a contingency basis, which
means if you don’t recover, we don’t get paid. For dynamic
representation in your auto injury claim, call our accident lawyers today.